Local 483 Honors Member of the Year

Monterey, CA.  Ramon Ramirez has been chosen by UNITE HERE Local 483 as its Member of the Year.  Mr. Ramirez will be honored at the Monterey Bay Central Labor Council’s (MBCLC) annual awards dinner on April 19, 2013, at the Hyatt Regency for his contributions toward bettering the lives of working people and their families in this community.

Ramon Ramirez, a 24-year member of the union, works as a steward at the Hyatt Regency Monterey.  He has led his co-workers and other union members in the campaign to rehire the former La Playa Hotel workers.  Mr. Ramirez had worked for 22 years at La Playa Hotel before new ownership closed it in November 2011 only to reopen in June 2012 with only three of the former 113 workers.  Mr. Ramirez is a union leader and member of Local 483’s area-wide worker committee.

A native of Jalisco, Mexico, Mr. Ramirez lives with his family in Seaside.

“We’re so proud of Ramon—his unwavering leadership in one of our union’s longest fights in Carmel has been an inspiring example to all Local 483 members and our community,” said UNITE HERE Local 483 Secretary-Treasurer, Leonard O’Neill.

Past UNITE HERE Local 483 Members of the Year

2012: Jose Vigil (Pine Inn) and Antonia Ihnot (La Playa Hotel)

2011: Sumran Raines (Asilomar)

2010: Jose Nicasio (Hyatt Regency)

2009:  James Hood (Highlands Inn) and Richard “Chuck” Smith (Asilomar)

2008:  John Aliotti (Lodge at Pebble Beach) and Virgilia “Jing” Wright (Hyatt Regency)

2007: Tom Guzman (Quail Lodge) and Lily Vasquez (Highlands)

2006: Alex Guillen (Highlands Inn) and Kendra Weeks (Hyatt Regency)

2005: Juana Enriquez (Monterey Bay Travelodge) and Joel Valdez (Asilomar)

2004: Amy Chao (Asilomar) and James Hood (Highlands Inn)

2003: Maricela Alaniz (Highlands Inn) and Teresa Conner (Hyatt Regency)

2002: Chizuko Calhoun (Hyatt Regency) and James Ford (Lodge at Pebble Beach)

2001: Karen Araujo (Hyatt Regency) and Hector Azpilcueta (Lodge at Pebble Beach)